This Week’s Basket and Recipes

I looked forward to this week’s basket from Milk and Honey Organics all week. We had some substitutions in ours, so I decided not to post a picture this week. Meal plan coming soon…

Quick Fixes for This Week’s Basket:

  • Local Parisi Farm’s Yellow Zucchini (thinly slice with chopped tomatoes, onions and feta, and dress with olive oil, lemon juice, fresh basil, salt and pepper)
  • Parisi Farm’s Beets with Greens (roast beets in foil, peel and eat warm with butter and garlic or slice them and store in the fridge for use in salads, etc.; add greens to a smoothie; cook like other greens)
  • Hurricane Creek’s Tomatoes (slice; make a quick salsa with the onion and garlic; chop and add to a pasta dish)
  • Watsonia’s White Peaches (make a cobbler; chop into oatmeal; add to a smoothie)
    • Note from Joy of Baking: To quicken the softening of the fruit, place in a pierced paper bag with an apple orbanana.  The ethylene gas given off by these fruits hastens the softening process.  Once soft, and if not used immediately, store in the refrigerator in a plastic bag for a few days.  Bring cold peaches to room temperature before using to bring out their full flavor. Read more: http://www.joyofbaking.com/Peaches.html#ixzz1PRsJN5zA
  • Local Rainbow Chard (sauté with garlic and serve with a sprinkle of nutmeg; enjoy raw in a salad)
  • North Carolina Blueberries (top oatmeal, pancakes, or waffles)
  • Vidalia Onions (make onion rings; top a burger)
  • Granny Smith Apples (grill slices and add to a burger; core and add brown sugar, cinnamon and nuts and bake till tender)
  • Romaine Lettuce (you can never go wrong with Romaine in a salad)
  • Pluots (Plum-Apricot hybrid – fold into vanilla ice cream; or use one of these “five ways to enjoy pluots”:http://www.sunset.com/food-wine/fast-fresh/five-ways-to-enjoy-pluots-00400000019178/)
  • White Garlic (fresh garlic toast; roast with root veggies)
  • Purple Potatoes (your kids will have fun eating purple mashed potatoes! Or you can roast them with rosemary:http://www.copywriterskitchen.com/2009/11/04/rosemary-roasted-purple-potatoes-recipe/)

Other Recipes for This Week’s Basket:

Blueberry Cottage French Toast: http://www.blueberryrecipes.org/2008/03/05/blueberry-cottage-french-toast-strata/#more-18

How to Freeze Blueberries: http://www.blueberryrecipes.org/2008/02/27/how-to-freeze-blueberries/

Lemon Blueberry Bread: http://www.joyofbaking.com/breakfast/LemonBlueberryBread.html

The Absolute Best Fried Vidalia Onion Rings from VidaliaOnion.org: http://www.vidaliaonion.org/recipes/the_absolute_best_fried_vidalia_onion_rings

Apple-Vidalia Cake from Vidalia Restaurant: http://www.vidaliaonion.org/recipes/apple-vidalia_cake_vidalia_restaurant (uses Granny Smith Apples too!)

French Onion Soup: https://myjourneytolean.wordpress.com/2010/11/05/recipe-french-onion-soup-by-melissa-mckinnon/

Ginger Jeweled Salad Recipe with Dried Pluots: http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/ginger-jeweled-salad-recipe.html

Dapple Dandy Pluot or Plum Jam: http://www.dianasdesserts.com/index.cfm/fuseaction/recipes.recipeListing/filter/dianas/recipeID/1779/Recipe.cfm.

Tyler Florence’s Purple Potato Salad: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/tyler-florence/purple-potato-salad-recipe/index.html

Creamy Zucchini and Garlic: http://www.garlicrecipes.org/creamy-zucchini-and-garlic.html

Swiss Chard Pesto: http://vegbox-recipes.co.uk/recipes/swiss-chard-recipe-1.php

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s