Tag Archives: recipe ideas

This Week’s Basket and Recipe Ideas

This week brought us another beautiful basket from Milk and Honey Organics!

Quick Fixes for This Week’s Basket:

  • Fuji Apples (Apple Pie, Chopped Apples on Oatmeal)
  • Banana, Yellow, Eco (Peruvian) (Peel and freeze in baggies for Smoothies, Use in Banana Splits, or Dehydrate Banana Chips for a fun snack)
  • Blueberries, North Carolina (Great in Pancakes or on top of your favorite Cereal with a handful of Chopped Nuts)
  • Broccoli, Local (Steam and Top with Cheese or eat fresh in a Broccoli Salad)
  • Carrots, With Tops (Chop and Steam, then top with a little butter and brown sugar or orange marmalade; or you can always make Carrot Cake)
  • Lemons, Choice (It’s a great time of year for lemonade!)
  • Lettuce, Green Leaf, Local (Great for fresh salads or lettuce wraps)
  • Tommy Atkins Mangos (Use as an Ice Cream Topping or add to a Smoothie)
  • Portabella Mushrooms (Slice on top of homemade pizza; brush with olive oil and sea salt and add to shish-kabobs; saute in butter and garlic until golden brown, add shiraz and simmer about 10 minutes, add sharp cheddar cheese and melt)
  • White Peaches, South Carolina (Great on oatmeal or sliced with whipped cream)
  • Yams, Covington Sweet Potatoes, N.C. (Sweet Potato Fries, Chips, or Wedges)
  • Parisi Chard (Add to a Quiche or Egg Casserole, or eat raw in your salad)
  • Parisi Kale (Add to a fresh salad with roasted nuts and a sweet and spicy Asian-style salad dressing)
  • Parisi Patty Pan Squash (Scoop out the center, saute with garlic in olive oil, and spoon back into the shell to serve) 

Other Recipes for This Week’s Basket:

Toad in a Pattypan Hole (http://kitchen-parade-veggieventure.blogspot.com/2010/07/toad-in-pattypan-hole.html)

Fuji Apple Crisp with Vanilla Ice Cream (http://www.nibbledish.com/people/worldpeas/recipes/fuji-apple-crisp-w-vanilla-ice-cream)

Peaches and Green Smoothie (http://foodloveswriting.com/2011/05/25/peaches-n-green-smoothie/)

Honey-glazed Carrots (http://nourishedkitchen.com/honey-glazed-carrots/)

Cinnamon Sweet Potato Hashbrowns (http://nourishedkitchen.com/sweet-potatohashbrowns/)

Roasted Carrots and Mushrooms with Thyme (http://www.kalynskitchen.com/2006/03/roasted-carrots-and-mushrooms-with.html)

Kale and Lemon Chips (http://www.elanaspantry.com/lemon-kale-chips/)

The Perfect Salad (http://myjourneytolean.wordpress.com/2011/03/01/recipe-the-perfect-salad/)

Sweet Potato and Edamame Hash (http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/sweet-potato-and-edamame-hash-10000001975698/)

Swiss Chard and Swiss Cheese Egg Pie (http://myjourneytolean.wordpress.com/2011/03/04/recipe-swiss-chard-and-swiss-cheese-egg-pie/)

Sweet Potatoes with Collards and Aduki Beans – substitute Kale or Chard for Collards (http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipes/2840)

Swiss Chard Wrapped Salmon (http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipes/2642)

Mango Breakfast Parfait with Cherry Banana Soft Serve (http://ohsheglows.com/2011/05/31/mango-breakfast-parfait-with-cherry-banana-soft-serve/)